Paranormal Romance & Urban Fantasy discussion

Bloodlines (Bloodlines, #1)
This topic is about Bloodlines
General Discussion > Books/Series Similar to Bloodlines by Richelle Mead

Comments Showing 1-5 of 5 (5 new)    post a comment »
dateDown arrow    newest »

Julianne Gibson (badmadame) | 2 comments I just finished Bloodlines, which is the spin off of the Vampire Academy Series. I was so in love with it that it took-over the title as my favorite series. However, now that I’ve finished it, I’ve found myself craving a similar series yet failing to find one. I’ve read some old threads, like five years old, with series similar to Vampire Academy, but most of them did not appeal to me and seemed very high school-esque (I’m a college student, I hated high school, and I'm just generally am not interested in high school drama like stuff). I loved Bloodlines and Vampire Academy primarily because of the world that Mead developed. The way she not only developed Moroi, Dhampirs, Strigoi, Ex-Strigoi, Alchemists, Ex-Alchemists, and even Human Magic Users but also developed incredibly twisted, fascinating, and surprising story lines kept me more excited, interested, and drawn in than any other books I’ve read in my life. I truly felt like I could lose myself in her world. I also liked that romance was present, but it wasn’t the shining star of her books. Her characters personal stories and the plotlines were clearly at the forefront, while the romance was a nice little extra to have. For comparison, I’m almost finished reading Obsidian (Lux Series), which was one of the recommended books in the old threads I mentioned, and the romance completely takes up the entire book while the details, twists (if any even ever happen), and paranormal stuff completely take a back seat. Anyways, I’d prefer to not continue wasting my time on books I hate and really desperately just want to find another series like Bloodlines. I appreciate any recommendations or help y’all offer. Thank you.