The Black Echo (Harry Bosch, #1, Harry Bosch Universe, #1) The Black Echo discussion

Michael Connelly vis a vis James Patterson

Comments Showing 1-6 of 6 (6 new)    post a comment »
dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by Rhonda (new)

Rhonda Johnson I've read the Harry Bosch series and the Alex Cross series. These series share such remarkable plot similarities. I'm no expert, so I don't know if these similarities are just conventions in the crime/detective genre or if one author was piggy backing on the other.

Some of the similarities I saw are
1. Trouble getting women because of the danger inherent in their job.
2. Woman moves far away and takes child.
3. Switching from local police to FBI.
4. Agent in charge of investigation turns out to be the killer.

The first Harry Bosch book, The Black Echo, came out in 1992. The first Alex Cross novel, Along Came a Spider, came out a year later in 1993.

message 2: by ROBERT (last edited Jun 12, 2018 07:47PM) (new) - rated it 4 stars

ROBERT I have read that Patterson was an editor and publishing exec. He allegedly just uses formulas from his vast reviewing experience to cobble together books. I have heard that he even has a team to put them together.

I am curious if others have heard this.

I am biased about Connolly because I have him on a pedestal with Bosch and also Haller books.

PS. I found this 2014 article on Patterson. https://www.bostonglobe.com/arts/book...

message 3: by Rhonda (new)

Rhonda Johnson Well, that’s a well deserved bias. I adore Bosch and Haller is nose to nose with him.

I haven’t heard anything about Patterson, but based on the books of his that I’ve read, I did get the impression that it was the work of several different writers. He’s found of putting a twist at the end, but he brings the twist out of nowhere without any foreshadowing to make the reader accept it as the logical result of the events of the story.