J.D. Robb discussion

33 views
Archive-BOM Noms/Polls 2021 > June Book of the Month Nominations - Closed

Comments Showing 1-15 of 15 (15 new)    post a comment »
dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by Sandra (new)

Sandra Hoover (sandrahoover) | 10534 comments Mod
Nominations are now being accepted for our June 2018 Book of the Month.

Please note: You may nominate any book from the Mystery/Suspense/Thriller genre or from any one of the many sub genres, with the exception of books by J.D. Robb and Nora Roberts. We explore Robb's In Death series in Buddy Reads & other discussions in this group. And we read & discuss Nora Roberts books with our sister group, Nora Roberts Groupies. We encourage you to join the discussions any time.

Nominations open May 19-23
Poll open May 24-29


Monthly Book Nomination Guidelines:

1-Each member may nominate 2 books per month. Please include a link to the book that you nominate.

2-Please - Only nominate books that you intend to read and discuss with this group!

3-Nominated books must be from the Mystery/Suspense/Thriller genres or one of the many sub genres.

4-Nominated books must be the first book in a series unless the Robb group has previously read the preceding books.

5-If your nomination wins the poll, we would love for you to consider leading the Book of the Month discussion for that month.

6-J.D. Robb and Nora Robert books are not eligible for nomination. We invite you to join us as we explore the In Death series books in our In Death Buddy Reads and enjoy discussing the Nora Roberts titles in our sister group, Nora Roberts Groupies.

7-Should an issue arise that results in the winning book being disqualified, the book that received the 2nd most votes will automatically become the replacement Book of the Month.


message 2: by Christine (new)


message 3: by Jonetta (new)

Jonetta (ejaygirl) | 13745 comments Mod
Summit Lake by Charlie Donlea
Summit Lake by Charlie Donlea

Description
Some places seem too beautiful to be touched by horror. Summit Lake, nestled in North Carolina s Blue Ridge Mountains, is that kind of place. But two weeks ago, Becca Eckersley, a first-year law student and daughter of a powerful attorney, was brutally murdered there. Now the town is reeling with grief, and the police are baffled.

At first, investigative reporter Kelsey Castle thinks of the assignment as a fluff piece. But the savagery of the crime, and the efforts to keep it quiet, hint at something far more sinister than a random attack by a stranger. As Kelsey digs deeper, despite danger and warnings, she feels a growing connection to the dead girl. And the more she learns about Becca's friendships, her love life and her secrets the more convinced she becomes that walking in Becca's footsteps could lead her out of her own dark past.


message 4: by Susan (new)

Susan (cruelshoes) | 526 comments The Silent Girls (Detective Anna Gwynne #1) by Dylan Young
When beautiful young Nia Hopkins goes missing from her family’s farm on the icy outskirts of the Forest of Dean, her blood soaking the floor, the Gloucestershire police are convinced she’s been taken by the killer who stabbed to death Emily Risman eighteen years ago. They’re desperate to finally have the evidence to put him away. To save another girl before it’s too late.

But Detective Anna Gwynne thinks the press frenzy is making them obsess over the wrong man. He doesn’t fit the profile she’s been trained to see. This killer is sadistic. The suspect isn’t capable of that kind of crime.

And when Anna finds a link to other cold cases, she realises the killer is manipulating the police to cover up other unspeakable crimes.

With no one listening, Anna knows she’s the only one who can hunt down this serial killer. But if she goes out alone, is she putting her own life in danger?

An absolutely page-turning thriller that will have you hooked. If you love Val McDermid, Angela Marsons and Robert Dugoni, you won’t be able to put down The Silent Girls.


message 5: by Jo Ann (new)

Jo Ann (jojog) | 349 comments Silent Scream (D.I. Kim Stone, #1) by Angela Marsons

Even the darkest secrets can’t stay buried forever…
Five figures gather round a shallow grave. They had all taken turns to dig. An adult sized hole would have taken longer. An innocent life had been taken but the pact had been made. Their secrets would be buried, bound in blood …
Years later, a headmistress is found brutally strangled, the first in a spate of gruesome murders which shock the Black Country.

But when human remains are discovered at a former children’s home, disturbing secrets are also unearthed. D.I. Kim Stone fast realises she’s on the hunt for a twisted individual whose killing spree spans decades.

As the body count rises, Kim needs to stop the murderer before they strike again. But to catch the killer, can Kim confront the demons of her own past before it’s too late?

Fans of Rachel Abbott, Val McDermid and Mark Billingham will be gripped by this exceptional new voice in British crime fiction.

NOTE: only 99 cent at Amazon


message 6: by Jo Ann (new)

Jo Ann (jojog) | 349 comments Little Girl Lost (DI Robyn Carter, #1) by Carol Wyer

A perfect family hiding disturbing secrets. A killer who wants the truth to be told.

A teacher goes missing under suspicious circumstances.
A millionaire is murdered at a local reservoir.
For Detective Robyn Carter, there’s no obvious link between the men. But as she starts to delve into the cases, her investigations lead her to Abigail, perfect wife and mother to beautiful little Izzy. What was Abigail’s connection to the victims? And why is she receiving threatening messages from an anonymous number?

But as Robyn starts to inch closer to finding the killer, Izzy is abducted.

Unless Robyn gets to the twisted individual in time, a little girl will die …

Gripping, fast paced and nailbitingly tense, this serial killer thriller will chill you to the bone. Perfect for fans of MJ Arlidge and Angela Marsons. Discover Carol Wyer’s new series today – at a special launch price.

Note: book is 2.99 on Amazon


message 7: by Sandra (new)

Sandra Hoover (sandrahoover) | 10534 comments Mod
Nominations will close at midnight EST. (tonight) :)


message 8: by Namita (new)

Namita  (-namita) | 204 comments Rules of Prey (Lucas Davenport, #1) by John Sandford

The "maddog" murderer who is terrorizing the Twin Cities is two things: insane and extremely intelligent. He kills for the pleasure of it and thoroughly enjoys placing elaborate obstacles to keep police befuddled. Each clever move he makes is another point of pride. But when the brilliant Lieutenant Lucas Davenport--a dedicated cop and a serial killer's worst nightmare--is brought in to take up the investigation, the maddog suddenly has an adversary worthy of his genius.


message 9: by Charlene (new)

Charlene (charlenethestickler) | 734 comments You all have made choices extremely difficult, as usual!


message 10: by Sharon (new)

Sharon Kallenberger Marzola | 2552 comments ♑Namita wrote: "Rules of Prey (Lucas Davenport, #1) by John Sandford

The "maddog" murderer who is terrorizing the Twin Cities is two things: insane and extremely intelligent. He kills for the pleasure of it and thoroughly enjoys pla..."


I read this years ago. It hooked me on John Sandford and Lt. Davenport.


message 11: by Christine (new)


message 12: by Sandra (new)

Sandra Hoover (sandrahoover) | 10534 comments Mod
Christine wrote: "Her Last Word by Mary Burton"

Christine - it's too late for new nominations this month. You may vote for one of the other nominated books on our June poll. Thanks.


message 13: by Sandra (new)

Sandra Hoover (sandrahoover) | 10534 comments Mod
Lies has been removed from our June Book of the Month poll. It will not be released in the U.S. until Sept. 11, 2018. We regret any inconvenience this may have caused and will be checking availability and release dates closely in the future.


message 14: by Christine (new)

Christine Hatfield  (christinesbookshelves) | 2744 comments Your welcome and alright that’s fine and and that was my fault


message 15: by Sandra (new)

Sandra Hoover (sandrahoover) | 10534 comments Mod
Christine wrote: "Your welcome and alright that’s fine and and that was my fault"

No one's to blame, Christine. The fact that it was released elsewhere last year made this a bit confusing. We'll know to check availability in the future. :)


back to top