Beta Reader Group discussion

Betas Offering FREE Services > Developmental editing FREE

Comments Showing 1-7 of 7 (7 new)    post a comment »
dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by ELMH (last edited May 17, 2018 11:24AM) (new)

ELMH | 5 comments Hey there,
I am offering free beta reading and developmental editing for the month of June. I have been participating in beta reads, critique swaps, and developmental editing for five years. I have my bachelors degree in English and History. I am currently returning for my Masters in writing. My services are most suited for writers that have finished their manuscripts, but certain areas still need to be hammered out. Sometimes you are just too close to your manuscript to see the forest from the trees. Developmental editing aims to improve the content and structure of a manuscript by examining character, plot, pace, and setting. But, it can be a painful process. It may require examining subplots, merging characters, and "trimming the fat" off your literary baby. It is a rough, but an incredibly necessary process to go through prior to the copy editing stage.
The genres I am willing to read include romance, fantasy, and sci-fi.
If interested in this service, please dm me.

message 2: by Dave (new)

Dave Anderson | 54 comments I am looking for a beta reader for my completed 72,000 word New Adult Romantic Suspense novel. I hope you'll find this interesting. Here's the blurb.

Having suffered physical, emotional, and sexual abuse by the time he was eleven, Cody has lived a life few would envy. But instead of being crushed by his experiences, he rises above his circumstance through an incredible act of sacrifice he hopes will free him from the ghosts who haunt him. When Cody is forced to examine the impact abuse has had on his life, he must decide how much of his past he can safely reveal. While revealing his deepest childhood secret might be liberating, it might also prove to be his undoing