Goodreads Authors/Readers discussion

Peter Rendell
This topic is about Peter Rendell
II. Publishing & Marketing Tips > Book covers - Hints, Tips and Providers

Comments Showing 1-9 of 9 (9 new)    post a comment »
dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by Peter (new)

Peter Rendell (peterrendellauth) | 41 comments No the topic is not about me - it is about Book Covers. I am the initiator of this discussion.

I am a struggling author who, like many, is looking for the weak link in my book presentation. The book cover sells the book. The thumbnail is often the first picture to be seen. So where do you start? What rules do you work to? What attracts the eye on a thumbnail? What text colours do not work for poor eyesight. My writing is still a hobby that I am hoping will become a business.

I didn't believe that I could afford to pay for a professional artist to do my book covers, so I elected to do my own using DAZ 3D. I put a lot of money into that 3D design tool; it averages $20 for each design component. I have probably spent far more than I would have with a professional book cover designer.

I would ask the professionals to give us authors a better idea of what you have to offer. I would suggest that a minimum package would be - a square image for the profile picture of a Facebook book page, a banner for said page, an Ebook book cover for Goodreads, Kindle book cover, and a small gif for Twitter.

I might suggest that a cash payment is not the only way to go. How about 2% of the book price instead?

So, what content do you put on a book cover? The cover is supposed to represent the subject of the story. Most covers leave me uninterested. The market is becoming washed out; the traditional images are tepid. So we need a lot of new images. I would suggest we let this topic on book covers include discussions on images.