What's the Name of That Book??? discussion

UNSOLVED: One specific book > About teenage depression after death of best friend

Comments Showing 1-3 of 3 (3 new)    post a comment »
dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by Desiree (new)

Desiree | 1 comments It's about a girl whose best friend dies and she spirals into a severe depression. And the book kind of becomes a journal of what her depression feels like. *you can feeeeel her feels.* with poems and everything.
And then the story evolves as she comes out of her grief and depression.

I read it when I was a sophomore. Maybe a freshman. In high school.
Around 1991 or 92. Thats when I read it, I have no idea when it was written. I felt like it wasnt that old at that time.
And the book resonates in my soul and I need to find it.

And I have zero idea what it's called or who it's by. I did find it on the interwebs about 10 years ago and found out it was out of print (which is a damn shame) but I'm still hopeful I can find it.

I found some typed (on an actual typewriter) poems/excerpts from the book that I had but there are no notes is title or author. Grrrr @ me! (Please, forgive any typos I cracked this out on my phone.)
Here are some of the excerpts from the book:
_________

Journal of the cracked mind.
I am a large shadow of you. I am what you were and what you hoped to be. I am a mirror before you and its reflection after. I am what you are after you were. Without you I would not have been. And now that you are gone will I grow I to myself and become you? We are alike. In vanishing you have only left yourself behind.

Slouching towards the end of the world.