THE Group for Authors! discussion

Publishing and Promoting > help with promotion

Comments Showing 1-29 of 29 (29 new)    post a comment »
dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by Curtis (new)

Curtis Cline | 9 comments Are there any free or low cost ways to promote an ebook on amazon. I am a new author and have experience dismal sales for my work A Good Man Goes to War The Dragon's Gambit.

message 2: by Will (new)

Will Once (willonce) | 210 comments I've got some good news and some bad news.

The good news is that the internet is awash with people telling you how to promote a book on Amazon. There's plenty on this site ... including a thread on "best bang for buck ways to promote your book". The kindle store is full of books on how to do it. There's a lot of free advice on a website called Absolute Write. Others swear by kboards, but I haven't used it myself. If you are prepared to spend some serious money, you might want to check out Mark Dawson's online courses.

The bad news is that ... the internet is awash with people telling you how to promote a book on Amazon. We're all trying to do the same thing, which means that we are all competing against each other. And we are all reading more or less the same stuff on the internet and reading the same books and taking the same courses.

If there is a shortcut or magical secret of success then I haven't found it.

My suggestion? Get yourself a notebook or open up word or Onenote or whatever you prefer. Google "how do I promote my book on Amazon". Discover the thousands of people who have asked this question before you. Read the answers that people have given them. Follow the links to websites like Absolute Write. Soak in all that good advice like a sponge.

Personally, I'd soak up all the free stuff first. There's a hell of an industry making money out of wannabe writers. That industry will still be there when you've finished reading the free stuff.