Wiccans/Witches/pagans/eclectics discussion

Book Chat > Wicca A Guide For The Solitary Practitioner

Comments Showing 1-13 of 13 (13 new)    post a comment »
dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by Edward (new)

Edward | 1 comments Who has read it and if so what did you think about it?

message 2: by Myrrdin (new)

Myrrdin Greyoak While I agree that Cunninghan may be a little on the fluffy side this is still an excellent book for those just beginning to learn about Wicca.

message 3: by Julie (new)

Julie | 5 comments I'm still new to Wicca, what do you mean by fluffy?

message 4: by Myrrdin (new)

Myrrdin Greyoak Fluffies as I grew to know them are those who believe all is goodness and light and either don't want to or are unable to acknowledge the darker side of the Craft (no I'm not talking about black magic) and the Goddess and God. THey also tend to be those who read one or two books and think that makes them witches.

message 5: by Julie (new)

Julie | 5 comments Thank you for the explanation. I believe there is balance in all things, so I tend to not do a lot of magic for that reason. I don't WANT to do anything dark or bring harm to anyone including myself. So I tend to read a lot, but do little on the magic side right now. It's hard being solitary and having no one to learn from. In everything throughout my life I learn better by watching and then doing. Trying to read and learn alone makes it more difficult I think. Does that make sense? I hope so.

message 6: by Myrrdin (new)

Myrrdin Greyoak Brian wrote: "If you study anything of nature, you'll see that there is a cycle of dark and light, life and death, etc. Reading just "fluffy" books is like standing in a Hermetically sealed room looking at flowe..."

Very true even in the light there are shadows

message 7: by Julie (new)

Julie | 5 comments I agree that there is light and dark, I just don't want to do something by accident or from a place of ignorance that causes harm to either myself or others.