The Evolution of Science Fiction discussion

Science Fiction Authors > J. G. Ballard

Comments Showing 1-29 of 29 (29 new)    post a comment »
dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by Susan (new)

Susan Budd (susanbudd) | 130 comments I'm still relatively new to J. G. Ballard. So far I've read The Drowned World (my review), which I liked a lot, and Concrete Island (my review), which I absolutely loved. For my next Ballard book, I'd like something similar to Concrete Island. Any suggestions?

message 2: by Susan (new)

Susan Budd (susanbudd) | 130 comments I just ordered a copy of Vermilion Sands. I wasn't sure if I wanted to commit myself to The Complete Stories of J. G. Ballard.

message 3: by Jo (new)

Jo | 1093 comments I started reading Ballard a long time ago but I started with some of his more recent novels which are (for me) more disturbing than dystopic, Cocaine Nights and Super-Cannes. I've also read his autobiographical novel Empire of the Sun, Crash and The Atrocity Exhibition. I like his style of writing.

I managed to buy his complete stories (but only volume 2) from a book sale but as it's quite thick and too heavy to carry around in my bag i've not got round to reading it yet.

message 4: by Susan (last edited May 21, 2018 01:05PM) (new)

Susan Budd (susanbudd) | 130 comments I generally prefer novels to short stories, so if I'm reading an author's short stories it's a huge compliment. Nevertheless I tend to get bogged down in even the best short story collections.

From what I gather, Vermilion Sands is a short story cycle and I like that. Reading a short story cycle is almost like reading a novel.

message 5: by Dan (last edited May 23, 2018 09:06PM) (new)