Book Nook Cafe discussion

What did you read last month? > What I Read--April 2018

Comments Showing 1-33 of 33 (33 new)    post a comment »
dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by madrano (new)

madrano | 13328 comments Nice month of reading for me.

How to Stop Time, written by Matt Haig. This is about a man born in 1500s still alive in 21st century. This is Tom Hazard’s secret. And he has a long-lost daughter he hopes to find. But, frankly, my favorite part was in the Acknowledgements, where he wrote, "Thank you for reading this book. That is the first acknowledgement to make. A book only becomes real by being read, so thank you for giving my daydream a reality.” I like that.

Educated: A Memoir by Tara Westover. A mixed bag for me, this book is about one woman's struggle to free herself from her Mormon fundamentalist family in Idaho. "Homeschooled", in theory, she was mostly self-taught (with some assistance from her brother) until she headed to Brigham Young University. This was a Buddy Book read & we all seemed to be uncomfortable with some missing pieces to her stories, as well as our questions of her memories. Still, i'm glad i read it with the group.

Andrew Johnson: A Biography is the sort of presidential bio like, chronological and full of enough details to allow readers to get a real sense of the whys of the man. Author Hans L. Trefousse was not blind to AJ's faults but helped the reader see early on how his stubbornness played to the failure of his Presidency. I learned that what i thought i previously knew of him was wrong, he wasn't an alcoholic. However, on his VP inauguration day he was drunk, trying to overcome a physical ailment, and that reputation clung.

Grey Mask is an early 20th century novel by Patricia Wentworth and her character, Miss Silver is a precursor to Agatha Christie's Miss Marple. This is the first in the series and, while interesting, didn't quite pull me in the way Christie did.