Dewey's 24 Hour Read-a-Thon discussion

note: This topic has been closed to new comments.
Archived Threads > Hour 11 - Favorite book to recommend

Comments Showing 1-28 of 28 (28 new)    post a comment »
dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by Jen (new)

Jen Scott | 19 comments Hi there! My name is Jen, and I'll be your moderator for hour 11. Can you believe we're almost half-way through? I have been a librarian for almost 3 years now, so it is my job to recommend books to people. So for this hourly discussion I want to know: what is your favorite book to recommend to people?

My favorite author is Markus Zusak, and most everyone I talk to has heard of The Book Thief. So my favorite book to recommend is my other favorite of his, I Am the Messenger. It's about a young man who is living a mediocre life, when one day he gets a playing card sent to him in the mail with 3 addresses written on it. He visits these addresses to find out that someone at each of these locations needs help and he is the one that needs to do it. It's beautifully written and has such a powerful message.

So let's hear what you've got! I am looking forward to adding some more books to my TBR pile. :)

message 2: by J (last edited Apr 28, 2018 03:05PM) (new)

J L's Bibliomania (jlsbibliomania) | 9 comments I don't have favorites per se, but tend to recommend my recent 5-star reads. While I read many things, my recent favorites have all been audiobook YA and I've been recommending

The Hate U Give
The Raven Boys
Code Name Verity

P.S, I've tried to read The Book Thief several times, and just haven't been able to get into it, which just proves that tastes differ

message 3: by Samantha (new)