2022 & 2023 Reading Challenge discussion

ARCHIVE 2018 > WillDogg's 15 Books Challenge for 2018

Comments Showing 1-7 of 7 (7 new)    post a comment »
dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by William (last edited Jun 13, 2018 06:17PM) (new)

William Macias (willdoggdotcom) | 19 comments Hello Everyone!

I am brand new to GoodReads and posting a new thread is a great way to waste time at work. So far I have completed 6 books and am on track!

The following books I have completed so far:

1) Down and Out in Paris and London - In the Orwellian fashion, Orwell writes about poverty. This book is very relevant today, especially living in Southern California, where there are huge class differences. It's an important read in my opinion, understanding why and how an individual may be held in a certain class due to bigger reasons other than their own efforts.

2) If Our Bodies Could Talk: A Guide to Operating and Maintaining a Human Body - Great topical book and interesting read about medical issues tied in with social commentary. One can skip around in the book due to its topical format.

3) The House of the Spirits - In this magical realism book by Isabel Allende, the story is spread throughout several generations in the 20th century. Allende has a very clever writing style that jumps from narratives and ties in the characters that are of kin. The flow is enjoyable at a good pace, descriptive, and fun! Several themes arise such as feminism, class, politics, and religion. I highly recommend this fictional book!

4) The Dialogues: Conversations about the Nature of the Universe - A great attempt by author Clifford Johnson to discuss various concepts in physics in a comic book format. Not one that I would particularly recommend, there are better books describing various concepts in physics. And obviously, Marvel and DC have better artwork.