Underground Knowledge — A discussion group discussion

MISCELLANEOUS TOPICS > Esoteric religion / spirituality / magic, the mind and self-help

Comments Showing 1-50 of 65 (65 new)    post a comment »
« previous 1

message 1: by Iain (last edited Apr 20, 2018 02:18PM) (new)

Iain McKenzie (Iain_mckenzie) | 2357 comments Hi,

Just wondering if anyone had any links or resources on this subject?

I am no expert on this topic, but it seems to me the 'ancient' sages/druids/shamans of the past may have had valid information and techniques on ways to help with self-improvement of the mind, and perhaps that knowledge has been lost due to being suppressed by other powers, religions, or been hastily disregarded by science and so on?

Does anyone have any links, resources or thoughts that they could share on this subject?

message 2: by Jim (new)

Jim (jimliedeka) | 571 comments When you read enough, you realize that the wisdom isn't secret, it's everywhere. The esoteric worldview can be found in Gnosticism, Neoplatonism, Hermeticism, Kabbalah, Hinduism/Buddhism, shamanism, and western magick traditions.

There are many techniques that take you interesting places. The big one from the ancient world is resurrection. The best introduction to that is Freddy Silva's The Lost Art of Resurrection. I don't know if it's currently practiced anywhere. If it is, that IS a secret.

message 3: by Jim (new)

Jim (jimliedeka) | 571 comments I would also recommend Colin Wilson's Mysteries and/or Patrick Harpur's The Secret Tradition of the Soul.

message 4: by Iain (last edited Apr 20, 2018 05:32PM) (new)

Iain McKenzie (Iain_mckenzie) | 2357 comments Thanks Jim, for the input.

message 5: by James, Group Founder (new)

James Morcan | 8068 comments Great subject, Iain.
I'm a bit more of a newcomer to this topic, but recently have become fascinated by how we can utilize the forgotten wisdom or techniques of the Ancients to improve our own lives.