The Sword and Laser discussion

Dawn (Xenogenesis, #1)
This topic is about Dawn
2014 Reads > Dawn: The Name "Lilith" in Jewish Mythology (Spoilers)

Comments Showing 1-10 of 10 (10 new)    post a comment »
dateDown arrow    newest »

Barak Raguan (shiningheart) | 40 comments Spoilers for the trade.

Hi all!
So I'm no expert on Jewish mythology, but I thought it might interest some of you to know that the choice of the name "Lilith" for the protagonist in Dawn was an allusion to the character of Lilith in Jewish mythology.
According to a popular Jewish myth, God had originally created both man and woman - Adam and Lilith. They were supposed to procreate and populate the earth. Lilith, however, didn't like Adam, and refused to couple with him. Defying God, she decided to mate with the king of demons, and gave birth to thousands of demon-spawn, known forevermore as the "children of Lilith" (bnei-Lilith).
When Adam complained that Lilith had refused to mate with him and had abandoned him, God decided to try anew, and created Eve from one of Adam's ribs, in hope that a woman created from Adam's flesh (not to mention one that is created after him), would prove more compliant and compatible to Adam.
In recent years, the myth of Lilith has been rediscovered and given a feminist interpretation as a woman who defies a patriarchal God, and insists on choosing her own mate rather than being simply a brooding mare for Adam.

For a more in depth analysis, see the paper I referenced earlier in the post, "Dialogic Origins and Alien Identities in Butler’s XENOGENESIS" by Cathy Peppers (1995).

terpkristin | 4186 comments Wow, I never knew that, a woman before Eve in any religious writing/myth. Thanks for sharing the info/link!

message 3: by Micah (new)