Navigating Indieworld Discussing All Things Indie discussion

Before You Publish > Affordable editing

Comments Showing 1-8 of 8 (8 new)    post a comment »
dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by Melanie (new)

Melanie Gabrell | 1 comments Hi all! My name is Melanie. I am a new author and new to goodreads. I finished a manuscript and had a few beta readers review my work, but now I need an editor (developmental/copyedit). I have heard from some that I should just wing it, but as a new author I am very nervous about it. I want to make sure my work is good quality!! The internet hasn’t shown me much advice, so I was hoping some of you may provide some. Do you know of any affordable editors? Any advice will help. Thank you!

message 2: by Christine (new)

Christine (christineparkerco) | 1 comments Hi Melanie, congrats on finishing your manuscript!

I'm a freelance editor so I might be biased but I think winging it is a pretty dangerous way to go, especially for your first book. The more rounds of revision your draft goes through, the cleaner it will be. If you're planning to self-publish, you want your book to be in the best shape possible, because your readers will absolutely spot the errors you miss, and then you risk negative reviews. If you're planning to publish traditionally by querying agents, a draft full of plot holes and mechanical mistakes will end up on the bottom of their slush pile, or even outright rejected.

Yes, professional editing can be very expensive, but it's worth it, in my opinion. It shows that you take your writing seriously, and will set your work apart from the amateur/hobby writers who blow it off.

So my advice is to get as many eyes on your work as possible. Even if you only use free beta readers, use a bunch of them! The more people you get to look at your draft, the more errors they will catch.