Great Middle Grade Reads discussion

GENERAL DISCUSSIONS > MG psychological thrillers?

Comments Showing 1-20 of 20 (20 new)    post a comment »
dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by Myrtle (last edited Mar 27, 2018 04:11PM) (new)

Myrtle | 6 comments Hi, I'm new to goodreads, and look forward to having too many books to choose from.

Can anyone tell me if there are any lists of MG Thrillers (MGT)? Is there such a thing as a MG psychological thriller or something that would fall close to that?

I loved THE MYSTERIOUS BENEDICT SOCIETY series, and the WILDWOOD series. THE SERIES OF UNFORTUNATE EVENTS was excellent, but I didn't get through all twelve books for reasons that did not have to do with the quality of the writing. Does it hold up to the end? A parent told me the books became repetitive, and their child didn't finish the second half of the series.

Thank you all.

M

message 2: by Rebecca (new)

Rebecca Douglass (rdouglass) | 1668 comments Mod
When I saw your header my first thought was that psychological thrillers would be pretty inappropriate for a MG audience. I guess you could categorize the books you list that way, and they are reasonable for the kids :)

As for lists, I'm not real up on how you search for such things across GR. I don't think we have one, but you could start one :)

message 3: by Melody (new)

Melody Bremen (melodyjbremen) | 66 comments As a child, I lost interest in the last few books of The Series of Unfortunate Events because I felt they were getting repetitive. But there are some people who adore they entire series, so I guess it's a matter of taste.

I've never heard of a middle grade psychological thriller, but there some more mystery type books. Here is a list on Goodreads of middle grade and young adult mystery and thriller books:
https://www.goodreads.com/list/show/8...

message 4: by Harley (last edited Apr 06, 2018 05:10PM) (new)