Chicks On Lit discussion

cookbooks

Comments Showing 1-45 of 45 (45 new)    post a comment »
dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by Tera, First Chick (new)

Tera | 2564 comments Mod
So, other than reading I love to cook. Not that Im a great cook but I still enjoy it. I especially love trying new recipes and always check out the cooking section of my library. Currently I am cooking from the Texas Home Cooking Cookbook and I love it. I have made a few things from it that are Yum-a-licious!
Question?
What cookbooks do you love? Have you ever cooked through a cookbook? I think that may be one of my goals if I can find the right book. Any suggestions?

message 2: by Sandy (new)

Sandy (sandushinka) I haven't cooked through a whole cookbook but I love Surreal Gourmet: Real Food for Pretend Chefs. A new one I'm trying some recipes from is A Beautiful Bowl of Soup: The Best Vegetarian Recipes.

If you like cooking through a cook-book, you might want to read Julie and Julia: 365 Days, 524 Recipes, 1 Tiny Apartment Kitchen. The author cooks through Julia Child's tome. It's going to be a movie with Meryl Streep eventually.

Sandy

message 3: by MJ (new)

MJ I love cooking as much as reading. My sister gives me a hard time for needing a bookshelf in the kitchen. For Christmas I got 2 new cookbooks. One is the new Better Homes & Garden. It is great they have allthe classics updated to be healthier. The 2nd was from America's Test Kitchen called America's Best Lost Recipes. I love going through and finding new recipes or new twists on old favorites.

message 4: by Sarah (new)

Sarah (goosers34) Hi new to the group.

This may sound lame, but...
the Weight Watchers My Program cookbook is great!! Trying to loose weight or not, the recipes are easy and flavorful. They are also easy to tweak. The book is about 15 bucks and only available at a WW center/store. It is worth going to pick up.

message 5: by Rebecca (last edited Mar 06, 2008 02:36PM) (new)