Gentle SPECTRUMS discussion

Any Topic 2018! > World News

Comments Showing 1-3 of 3 (3 new)    post a comment »
dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by C. (friends, please call me by name) (last edited Mar 14, 2018 06:42AM) (new)

C.  (friends, please call me by name) (riedel) | 971 comments Mod
I am not a scientist but have long been a fan of Stephen Hawking; a great compliment to who he is. I admire and listen avidly to his work, attitude of endurance and positive spirit, and adore him as a likeable, humorous person. I am shocked that he died this morning without warning and sad. This is a big deal, an announcement as major as any other that gave our world pause. My spouse exclaimed from the livingroom as he got ready for work. Ron is a scientist and we are both fans.

We know we have had him for such a wonderfully long time, that Stephen's longevity, really did defy science. That is my own apt quote. We always laugh extra happily when he appears on "The Big Bang Theory". I remember him on "Star Trek, The Next Generation" and delighted in Brent Spiner's comment about how hilarious Stephen was about meeting him afterwards; citing the money Brent owed him for the poker game they had acted out on television.

God bless you, Professor Hawking! Thank you for being such a loveable, accessible person: that you make everybody interested in your work; no matter what our scholarly experience! I am especially happy your family had you so long. With Love, Carolyn.

message 2: by C. (friends, please call me by name) (last edited Apr 09, 2018 01:16PM) (new)