Geo-Diversity Book Club discussion

Books We Read > MARCH 2018: India

Comments Showing 1-25 of 25 (25 new)    post a comment »
dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by Cat (new)

Cat | 15 comments Mod
I guess this is where we'll discuss our March read. I'm pretty new to Goodreads Groups so sorry if I'm doing this wrong...

message 2: by Cat (new)

Cat | 15 comments Mod
Hey, just a quick update. We’ll be discussing The White Tiger on April 7th so you still have plenty of time to read it :)

message 3: by Cat (new)

Cat | 15 comments Mod
OK, it's finally time to start discussing The White Tiger!!

message 4: by Marija (new)

Marija | 11 comments So what are your thoughts on the book?

message 5: by Cat (new)

Cat | 15 comments Mod
Personally, I really liked it. Balram was definitely a morally gray character but I felt like he was genuine and real. Also, I really enjoyed all of the societal commentary. How about you?

message 6: by Cat (new)

Cat | 15 comments Mod
Hi!

message 7: by Marija (new)

Marija | 11 comments I agree. I found his narration to be very amusing at times, even though the things discussed in the book aren't like that themselves. I was honestly a bit shocked by certain things I read, since I had no idea that the situation in India was like that (after reading I even went and watched some documentaries on the society in modern day India).

message 8: by Cat (new)

Cat | 15 comments Mod
I totally agree! I always imagined the Taj Mahal and yoga, and while I knew there was poverty I never really imagined it being that severe.

message 9: by Cat (new)

Cat | 15 comments Mod
It's definitely a satirical novel so I guess maybe he's not genuine but the ideals he symbolizes are?

message 10: by Marija (new)