Great Middle Grade Reads discussion

The Girl Who Drank the Moon
This topic is about The Girl Who Drank the Moon
ARCHIVE - BOTM discussions > BOTM for JANUARY is The Girl Who Drank The Moon

Comments Showing 1-47 of 47 (47 new)    post a comment »
dateDown arrow    newest »

Jemima Pett | 1357 comments Mod
Happy new year!

The first BOTM of 2018 is The Girl Who Drank the Moon by Kelly Barnhill. I hope you'll find it easy to get a copy to read and then post your comments below.

When you tell us what you think, consider putting any plot spoilers within the html tag for spoilers. (pointy bracket)spoiler(pointy bracket) your text (pointy bracket)/spoiler(pointy bracket)
A pointy bracket is this sign '<' or pointing the other way at the end of the word spoiler.

Flagging spoilers is particularly helpful if you are one of the early commenters. Thank you!

message 2: by [deleted user] (new)

Happy New Year!
I read The Girl Who Drank the Moon late in 2017 and loved it. As a fantasy writer, I appreciated that the protagonist was a female and that there weren't any huge, bloody battles. Kelly Barnhill has created an intriguing new world that I hope will inspire other fantasy writers to try out new ideas (big, soggy monsters that aren't bad guys for example) to add to the collection of great fantasies for children.
BTW, I'm new in this group. I'll be promoting my book in the Authors section. Thank you MG writers for all of the Great Reads!

Leviathan Libraries (leviathanlibraries) I have this as an audio book, and didn't finish it (I am easily distracted), so I will happily join in!!

message 4: by Rebecca (new) - added it

Rebecca Douglass (rdouglass) | 1662 comments Mod
Patricia, I also read it sometime in the last few months, and loved it. I think you put your finger on what was so good--tension and excitement without big bloody battles, and a different take on monsters and magic.