Goodreads Librarians Group discussion

Book Issues > Book attributed to wrong author

Comments Showing 1-10 of 10 (10 new)    post a comment »
dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by David (new)

David Hall (quietandstrong) | 4 comments Hello, I'm a new author with the same name as an existing author, so my new book came in linked under the other author's name.

Book: Minding Your Time
Kindle ASIN: B078NC3VC5
Paperback ASIN: 1976740819 - ISBN-13: 978-1976740817

How do I fix this?

Thanks!

☕ Lachgas ♿  (lachgas) | 6178 comments You don't - but our librarians magic :D

I'm on it

message 3: by David (new)

David Hall (quietandstrong) | 4 comments Awesome. Thanks!

☕ Lachgas ♿  (lachgas) | 6178 comments ugh undererstimated the number of David Halls and the mess they are :D
ehm might take a short while longer with the magic.

GR does differentiate authors with the same name by spaces between first and last name. and I have to check how many are taken already :)

message 5: by ☕ Lachgas ♿ (last edited Dec 28, 2017 11:24AM) (new)

☕ Lachgas ♿  (lachgas) | 6178 comments so here's your brand new 7 space profile https://www.goodreads.com/author/show...
So if you claim (you can do that here: https://www.goodreads.com/author/conf...) that your name on GR is David^^^^^^^Hall (^=space) that doesn't have to do anything with the search (people can enter David^Hall and will find you) but it's relevant information for librarians in case another book of yours lands on the so called default profile (that with 1 space).
We can move them within seconds then - and it's appreciate if you use the magic word "7 spaces" because otherwise we have to count them by hand ;)

the only way to prevent e.g. import bots from importing it wrong (as probably no one ever enters his name with 1+x spaces on Amazons database) to the 1 space profile is to be faster than the bots.