Beta Reader Group discussion

Betas Offering FREE Services > Beta Reading for New Adult Fiction

Comments Showing 1-15 of 15 (15 new)    post a comment »
dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by jms (new)

jms | 4 comments Hi! I am a librarian with a Bachelors in Literature, certificate in YA fiction, and a second MA in American Studies-- my thesis was about cultural implications of New Adult Fiction. I have read most of major titles in this genre, and would love to offer me services to Beta read any authors looking for real and in depth feedback on their manuscripts. Please Message me and let me know if I can read for you!

message 2: by Luralee (new)

Luralee | 59 comments Thank you for offering your services!

I have a question. What is the difference between NA and adult fiction with a younger protagonist?

I have a dystopian time travel love story that could use another pair of eyes. The MC is 19 at the start of this book and 22 by the end of the trilogy. It reads more like YA than adult fiction.

message 3: by jms (new)

jms | 4 comments New Adult focuses on themes of coming of age, like identity construction (developing sexuality, negotiating education and career choices), new independence, finding oneself ( leaving home, career choices, educational interests, etc). I am happy to read the first few chapters and give you some feedback, though. I definitely am a fan of dystopian YA fiction, I just dont have the same level of expertise about the genre... think more fan than expert :).

message 4: by Luralee (new)

Luralee | 59 comments I'd love to send you the first few chapters and see what you think of them. Is a google doc ok?

I'm pretty sure It isn't YA, the MC is too old.

message 5: by Surrly (new)

Surrly (hamiltopolis) | 11 comments I pm'd you!

message 6: by jms (new)

jms | 4 comments Luralee wrote: "I'd love to send you the first few chapters and see what you think of them. Is a google doc ok?

I'm pretty sure It isn't YA, the MC is too old."

Yep!