CanadianContent discussion

Archives 2017 > Walter Scott Prize for Historical Fiction 2017

Comments Showing 1-2 of 2 (2 new)    post a comment »
dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by Mj (last edited Oct 16, 2017 12:12PM) (new)

Mj | 1189 comments For those interested in Historical Fiction and sorry that Commonwealth Prizes are being opened up too widely, check out The Walter Scott Prize for Historical Fiction. It's open to books that were published in English during the previous year in the UK, Ireland and the Commonwealth. The majority of the book's plot/setting needs to have taken place 60 years ago.

2017's winner was from Ireland, 2 authors were from Australia and 1 Canadian (currently up for the Scotiabank Giller Prize.) There are some pretty heavy hitting authors on the list and quite a cross-section of historical fiction topics.

2017 Winner
Days Without End Barry, Sebastian Ireland

Other Short Listed Books
A Country Road Baker, Jo
The Vanishing Futurist Hobson, Charlotte
The Good People Kent, Hannah Australian
Golden Hill Spufford, Francis
Mother Sunday Swift, Graham
The Gustav Sonata Tremain, Rose

Other Long Listed Books
The Noise of Time Barnes, Julian
Crane Pond Francis, Richard
The Dark Circle Grant, Linda
Minds of Winter O'Laughlin, Ed Canadian
The Essex Serpant Perry, Sarah
The Last Painting of Sara de Vos Smith, Dominic Australian

Here's some info about the prize:

Here's a link to the long list announcement on Februrary 22, 2017

Here's a link to the short list announcement on March 28, 2017

Here's a link to the video of the winner announcement on June 19, 2017

message 2: by ❀ Susan (new)

❀ Susan G (susanayearofbooksblogcom) | 4242 comments Mod
Thanks MJ - I have not heard of this one and will be sure to check out the links!

back to top