Blurb discussion

Any advice for new writers?

Comments Showing 1-7 of 7 (7 new)    post a comment »
dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by Valini (new)

Valini (valini21) | 1 comments I am feeling really dejected because I don't quite know where to start to become a writer. I have always wrote for personal enjoyment (poetry, reviews, reflections), and it has been a type of saving grace for me that has helped me through my life. I tried other professions, such as being a paralegal, but I was so dissatisfied with them. The money was good, but my spirit was starving. My passion has always been writing, and it means so much to me that I am willing to take less money to do it as a career. Yet, I do not know where to start. I majored in Political Science in college, because I wanted to have a broader view of the world. Yet, although it required a lot of writing and reading, and although I have edited student papers as a freelances, people prefer to hire English majors for writing and editing positions. Does you have any advice on how I may enter into the writing or editing profession with my background. How do I make the first step from writing for enjoyment to also writing that can also open up professional opportunities for me. Thank you so much for reading and for your advice.

message 2: by Clive (last edited Mar 04, 2008 08:16PM) (new)

Clive Warner | 19 comments Mod
Well, it really is difficult.
However you do have one big advantage, you're a woman. Something like 55% or more of books are bought by women, and the Romance genre - which nowadays includes all sorts of sub-genres - is the best selling of all literature.
In fact, chick-lit is also way ahead of other lit in terms of selling e-books.
If you really want to make a career of it, try writing a romance, is my recommendation. After you get published - it usually takes two or three novels - you mightt branch out.