Support for Indie Authors discussion

Marketing Tactics > Clarion/BlueInk reviews: worth it?

Comments Showing 1-8 of 8 (8 new)    post a comment »
dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by John (new)

John Graham | 28 comments I've found a couple of Goodreads threads, as well as some external articles, on whether or not Kirkus Reviews are worth what they charge. For some authors, the answer was a clear yes, but the consensus I found is that they're overpriced, and that the reviews themselves consist mostly of rehashing the plot rather than actually reviewing the book. So as a newly self-published author I was wondering if anyone had tried or looked into getting a review from Foreword Clarion or BlueInk.

I included both because apparently they've teamed up to offer two reviews (one from each site) for the discounted price of $695. This would obviously be quite an investment, so I was hoping to get some feedback from people who've either tried this service or have alternative suggestions for getting reviews.

I would add a link directly to the webpage, but apparently links aren't allowed. Google "Foreword Clarion reviews" so you can see what I'm talking about.

message 2: by Roxanne (new)

Roxanne Bland (roxanne2) | 102 comments I bought a Foreword Clarion review, and I'd say it was worth it (and not just because it was a great review). Most of it was the reviewer's opinion, rather than rehashing the story line. Would I buy another? If I have the money, yes, I would.

There's a website called The Indie Book Reviewers List (The IndieView), that's got a giant list of people who are willing to review indie books, and what genres they're willing to review. They're mostly bloggers, and the reviews are free.