Devon Book Club discussion

Archive > Descent: My debut novel

Comments Showing 1-14 of 14 (14 new)    post a comment »
dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by Tom (last edited Oct 09, 2017 06:08AM) (new)

Tom Dawn | 18 comments Hi folks. Just letting you know about my debut novel "Descent" which came out this week.

I'm based in Devon, in the agri-business hinterland around the M5. As a self-published author I'm finding there are barriers to being rated! Your honest/positive feedback is welcome.

Keeping all the social media going is exhausting, and I'd really rather be writing book 2 (plus earn a living), so I have just the one blog, at WordPress and just Facebook, not Twitter.

message 2: by Ruth (new)

Ruth Downie | 77 comments Hi Tom,
Congratulations and good luck with the book! And I agree totally about the challenge of keeping up with social media.
Just one thought - when I looked at your blog it was hard to find a picture of the book cover. Might be worth putting one up at the top somewhere?
Ruth

message 3: by Tom (new)

Tom Dawn | 18 comments Thanks for the suggestion, and your encouragement, Ruth. I'll do that! BTW I have set up a GoodReads Giveaway to start next week. I'll try to remember to post here.

Ruth wrote: "Hi Tom,
Congratulations and good luck with the book! And I agree totally about the challenge of keeping up with social media.
Just one thought - when I looked at your blog it was hard to find a p..."

message 4: by Kathy (new)

Kathy Shuker (kathyshuker) | 524 comments Hi Tom. Congratulations on the book! Yes, I think most of us would agree about the challenge of all the 'collateral' demands of publishing when all you want to do is write. But you can't do it all and the writing is the most important bit. I don't do Twitter either - not enough hours in the day! ;-)
Good luck with it.
Kathy

message 5: by Ian (new)

Ian | 2998 comments Mod
Tom wrote: "Hi folks. Just letting you know about my debut novel "Descent" which came out this week.