Reading 1001 discussion

The Blind Assassin
This topic is about The Blind Assassin
Archives > The Blind Assassin: October 1-7: Parts 1, 2, 3, & 4

Comments Showing 1-29 of 29 (29 new)    post a comment »
dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by Dianne (last edited Oct 01, 2017 04:39AM) (new) - rated it 4 stars

Dianne | 193 comments Happy October to all of the 1001 readers and welcome to all of the Litsy participants! Jen P and I will be co-moderating this month's group read of The Blind Assassin and we have the Litsy tag names JenP and dd4250. Please follow us to track the discussion on Litsy - I'm new to Litsy myself and should be an adventure!

I have to say this book so far is NOT what I was expecting! Well, what was I expecting? With a title Blind Assassin, perhaps I was thinking this would a mystery, a murder mystery, one with an assassin - but blind? How would that even be possible? The time jumps and digressions into the 'blind assassin' narrative threw me for awhile, but happily I have adapted and am swimming along with the story having finished this week's section. If you are finding this novel challenging - don't give up! It becomes much easier to traverse as you go along.

I pose a few questions for you all, and feel free to answer any or all or pose your own!

1. What did you think of the 'layering' technique that Atwood used with respect to the unfolding of the plot in this novel?

2. What are your views of Iris and Laura and their relationship so far? Do you have any sense of why Laura is portrayed as 'fragile' or 'special'? How do you think their parents perceived each of them and the roles they were expected to play?

3. Why do you think Atwood uses different forms of writing in the novel?

4. Do you like the 'blind assassin' sections? Do you have any sense of how these might tie into the rest of the novel so far?

5. Why do you think Atwood introduces the mystery lovers and what function do you think they serve in the plot?