RDG 6319 Foundations of Reading, Summer 2017 discussion

Because of Winn Dixie by Kate DiCamillo

Comments Showing 1-22 of 22 (22 new)    post a comment »
dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by Lisa (new)

Lisa (drld) | 14 comments Mod
I grew up grocery shopping with my Mom at a Winn Dixie. At the very beginning of the book you will learn where the title comes from. A single father, a lonely daughter, and Winn Dixie! I hope you enjoy this heart warming story.

message 2: by Katherine (new)

Katherine Wolf (mrskewolf) | 51 comments This book is precious and I absolutely loved it! Seeing how Opal learned how to make friends with many different types of people made me smile and think of my own experiences. When I graduated high school, I decided that I didn’t want to go to a school where all of my friends were going. I wanted to go to a small university, and I wanted it to be as far away as possible. So, I went seven hours away for school.

Like Opal, I remember the struggle of trying to make friends with people that were unlike me...many of the people at my university came from big cities or other countries. They helped me to get outside of my comfort zone, to realize that I could learn from the stories and opinions of others!

This book would be really good for teaching tolerance and acceptance. Over the course of the story, Opal learns how to accept others for who they are and what they have been through. She learns to listen and befriend people, regardless of what they’ve done in the past.

message 3: by Stephanie (new)