RDG 6319 Foundations of Reading, Summer 2017 discussion

Dear Mr. Henshaw by Beverly Cleary

Comments Showing 1-23 of 23 (23 new)    post a comment »
dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by Lisa (new)

Lisa (drld) | 14 comments Mod
I really like the style Beverly Cleary uses to tell the story.

message 2: by Katherine (new)

Katherine Wolf (mrskewolf) | 51 comments I don’t want to say that I didn’t like this book, but I don’t want to say that I did, either. I enjoyed the storyline, but it definitely took me more than a chapter to get interested in it. I found myself annoyed by Leigh, the main character. He seemed to be so whiny! However, as his story developed, and he kind of “found himself” as a writer, I decided I could like him a little bit.

His story hits close to home for me...my parents were divorced and my dad walked out of our life, even though he promised he would always call or come visit. Like Leigh, I remember the anger I used to feel towards my dad and eventually learning to forgive him and move on from the crappy things he did to me and my family.

I thought that the problem of the lunchbox thief that he had to overcome was a good way to process the internal problem that he was facing with his emotions. He had to go beyond what he knew and figure out how to fix it. In the end, I wasn’t ready for the book to be over, but I thought that it progressed nicely after a slow start.

message 3: by Stephanie (new)

Stephanie Skiles | 14 comments This book took only 2 days for Megan and me to read. I had read this when I was younger and loved it. So happy to see it on this list, as I had forgotten just how wonderful this book is. It touched Megan’s, heart. This book is also fun for young readers who want to become writers I think. I like how this book has a very real life feel to it.

message 4: by Ariel (new)