Support for Indie Authors discussion

Archived Workshop No New Posts > Be Patient Or Just Do It?

Comments Showing 1-26 of 26 (26 new)    post a comment »
dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by Carrie (new)

Carrie D. Miller (carriedmiller) | 24 comments I apologize in advance for rambling…

So, my debut novel came out on April 1st. In the beginning, I loved my cover. But as I started to see it beside the others in Amazon listings, my love began to fade. I don’t feel that it stacks up with others in my genre and people aren’t clicking on it because the cover looks “homemade” compared to the others.

In my mind, this is the reason it’s not selling as well as I think it should. However, I am notoriously impatient and have higher expectations than I rightly should. I am a newbie nobody author, so that is why the book isn’t rising up the ranks.

I’ve created a dilemma for myself: leave the cover alone for at least 6 months, maybe a year, and be patient, or just go with a new, amazing cover. I’m struggling with this for emotional reasons: I know I’m impatient and this could just all be in my head, I think I may hurt my friends’ feelings who’ve already bought the book, and the designer might be hurt, too.

I think I’m writing this mostly to hear how stupid it sounds. (Sometimes, you just gotta talk it through.) I don’t need to worry about people’s feelings. This is a business and my book is a product. My gut says do it (why are you waffling, woman?) especially since the new design is so awesome, IMHO. But I really would love input from you all.

Thanks for listening!

CURRENT COVER

DRAFT COVER

message 2: by Robin (new)

Robin | 12 comments I like the first one but I am older and the younger people might like the draft version. I think it might just be a matter of preference . Robin

message 3: by M.L. (new)