Around the Year in 52 Books discussion

Off Topic > Making Your Personal Challenge "Harder"

Comments Showing 1-30 of 30 (30 new)    post a comment »
dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by Katie (new)

Katie | 2369 comments I know it's probably way too early to start talking about our approaches for the 2018 challenge, but I just love talking planning and some of the talk on the 2018 Wild Discussion thread got me thinking. We're talking about how people can tailor their own challenge to make it more or less difficult.

2018 will be my fourth year of doing the challenge, and I'm always seeing how I can keep it new and exciting. This year, I challenged myself to read in task order, which I've never done before. For a mood reader, it's definitely been a challenge!

Do you do anything to make the challenge more "difficult" for yourself? Or are you considering adding any of your own rules for the upcoming challenge?

Some ideas I'm kicking around are only reading books that I have on my physical bookshelf at home, or trying to make at least a quarter of my books be written by people of color.

message 2: by Brianna (new)

Brianna (bebecburt) | 549 comments Last year (my first year in the challenge) I focused primarily on physical books I own. It definitely made it harder for me! I may try to focus on books primarily by male authors next year (most of what I read is YA and female authors so trying to branch out a little bit).

message 3: by Laura, Celestial Sphere Mod (new)

Laura | 3823 comments Mod
This year I've tried to really fit in books published in either 2016 or 2017 so that I could finish my read 16 in '16 in 17 in '17 prompts. I also just like to be able to feel informed when it comes time to vote in the GR Choice Awards.

message 4: by Joan (new)