Beta Reader Group discussion

Covers, Blurbs, 1st Line, Query > Fantasy/Sci-Fi Trilogy Covers and Blurb

Comments Showing 1-11 of 11 (11 new)    post a comment »
dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by Maureen (last edited Jun 08, 2017 10:41PM) (new)

Maureen Thayer | 5 comments Here are all three front covers for my fantasy/sci-fi trilogy, Half-Blood, as well as the blurb for Book 1. I have not included the blurbs for the second and third books since they contain spoilers. At the bottom of the page is a blurb for the trilogy as a whole.

Being a graphic artist, I did the covers myself. Any comments and questions are welcome and appreciated. I am not 100% satisfied with the cover for Book 3, so I'd especially like comments for it.

Link deleted by OP.

message 2: by Keith (new)

Keith Oxenrider (mitakeet) | 1166 comments My impression is the boy looks very feminine, so book 2 either looks like a romance or a gay novel to me.

Also, it took me a number of moments to discern the difference between the covers, probably not what you are looking for. I feel the covers should be distinct, yet have similarities, you've gone the other way (e.g., appear identical, but have subtle differences).

Regarding your blurb, first it is 'too long' in that the supposed sweet spot is 100-150 words (yours is 338). Second this:

"he was imprisoned by a magician within a gemstone"

is written that the magician is inside the gemstone, likely the opposite of what you're intending. It also reads like pure fantasy to me, I'm not getting the scifi angle at all.

Because you have to hook the reader as fast as possible, you might want to experiment with introducing Da’arn first, even though it appears Benarin is the MC. I'm not set on that, just a suggestion you can try out.

Good luck!

message 3: by Maureen (last edited Jun 08, 2017 10:42PM) (new)