The Seasonal Reading Challenge discussion

SUMMER CHALLENGE 2017 > 20.9 - Moderator's Pet - Book Concierge's Task: Happy Retirement

Comments Showing 1-42 of 42 (42 new)    post a comment »
dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by SRC Moderator (last edited Jun 08, 2017 03:53PM) (new)

SRC Moderator | 4926 comments Mod
20.9 - Moderator’s Pet – Book Concierge: Happy Retirement

I am retiring this June – Whoop Whoop Whoop!
I’ve changed careers several times over my working life. I started out in Criminal Justice (I was a probation/parole officer with a caseload of adult, male felons). Then I moved to corporate America and worked in Human Resources. After a few years I stayed with the company but changed departments to Government Relations. I quit working when I got married, so I’d have time to travel with my husband (who was in international business); then I started working part-time as a travel agent. When his company eliminated their international division, he retired … and I went to work in Healthcare Administration. Gosh, I’m tired just reading about all those jobs/careers! I need a rest ... And I’m looking forward to more time to read, travel, garden, cook, and just plain be retired.

NO books with CHILDRENS / KIDS as a main page genre can be used. The book must have a minimum of 250 pages.

Read one book, at least 250 pages long, that fits one of the following options:

A) Read a book with a main character who works in Criminal Justice (e.g. police, FBI, District attorney, etc) or Healthcare (e.g. doctor, nurse, hospital administrator, etc). Since work is a "real-life" experience, NO books with a main page genre of Fantasy or Science Fiction allowed for THIS option.
REQUIRED: If it is not evident from the main Goodreads page, provide a link that verifies how your book fits.