2021 Reading Challenge discussion

ARCHIVE 2017 > Amber Voyles 50 books for 2017

Comments Showing 1-4 of 4 (4 new)    post a comment »
dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by Amber (new)

Amber (alvoyles79) Hello Everyone! I am not new to Goodreads but I am new to the Reading Challenge and being involved with a group as well. I just thought it might be nice to have a group to talk with about my love of books. I am not real sure how these folders and threads work for sure. (Give me a break!! I prefer to have my nose in a book!) My favorite reading is going old school. There is nothing as great as the smell of a new book with the exception of the really old used book. I did however 2 years ago break down and get a kindle. I am out of room on my many bookshelf and I have two huge boxes in my garage full of books. I only keep the ones I love!! My favorite genre is urban fantasy but I also like horror as well. Stephen King is pretty damn amazing and his son Joe Hill is pretty good as well (I really enjoyed Heart Shaped Box!). I am always looking for new stuff to read so any recommendations would be welcome, however I am really stuck to my genre and rarely venture outside of it. My poor mom hates that about me but isn't surprised. I have always enjoyed fantasy novels even as a young child. Although Sci-fi is often grouped with fantasy, I am not a sci-fi fan at all. I look forward to meeting so great new book loving friends and finding new books from recommendations. Nice to meet y'all!!
Amber

message 2: by Nik (new)

Nik (bleepnik) | 852 comments Hey, Amber, welcome to the group. Good luck with your reading this year; I look forward to seeing which books you end up enjoying the most. =)

You can check out some of our threads for ideas. For example, I just use mine as a straight-up book log in the form of a very simple list. But others in our group do a much more amazing job, including little summaries and mini reviews and whatnot. A few examples for inspiration: