Goodreads Authors/Readers discussion

Author Resource Round Table > The importance of a good book cover

Comments Showing 1-19 of 19 (19 new)    post a comment »
dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by Judith (last edited May 31, 2017 08:12AM) (new)

Judith SNicolas (judithsdesign) | 14 comments THE END...or not.
As a cover artist I would like to write about an issue that for some people is of secondary importance.
I’m talking about Book Covers.
A literary work is a long process of hard work, because find the fountain of inspiration is not an easy task .
Each writer has a personal and unique way to find it.
An inner exercise that slowly grows and leads the story trough an unexpected discovery.
When the author type the words “The end”, do you think that is this really the end?
I’m afraid not.
The beginning and the end of a literary work is its cover.
The cover has to talk with no words, has to convince with no words, has to make feel with no words, has to be the “soul” of its writer.
A cover artist is in charge of showing in images what writer created with words.
Writer and Cover Artist are one.
It is a pity, that in some occasions, all the effort of a good writer, doesn't receive a well-deserved acknowledgement due to an inappropriate cover.
The End… or not... what do you think?

Judith San Nicolás
JudithS Design & Creativity
http://www.judithsdesign.com/
https://www.facebook.com/judithsdesign/

message 2: by J.M. (new)

J.M. Garlock | 41 comments I agree. I read somewhere that perusing, potential customers on Amazon spend on average 2 seconds looking at a cover. If the cover gets their attention they'll perhaps read the Product Description & Look Inside. Good covers that convey what the book is about are essential.
J.M. Garlock
The Centurion Chronicles

message 3: by Vicky (new)