Beta Reader Group discussion

Betas Offering FREE Services > Free Beta reader seeking YA & Adult Fantasy/Science Fiction

Comments Showing 1-11 of 11 (11 new)    post a comment »
dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by Joshua (new)

Joshua Barycz (JTBarycz) | 2 comments Hey guys,

I'm a Chef by day and avid reader whenever I'm not in the kitchen. I can often be found on my breaks deep in a novel or beta reading for my wife. Currently she is holed up writing and suggested I beta read for this group as a way to give back to the community that gives me so much enjoyment.

I am most interested in YA and adult science fiction or fantasy. That being said I am open to virtually all genres except for pure romance. I prefer completed works but if you are stuck at a certain section and need help breaking through I am well versed in that.

I can usually complete and provide feedback for 400 page book in two weeks however if you need less we can discuss that. I have a list of things I look for and upon contacting we can go over it and fit it to your needs.
-Joshua

message 2: by J. (new)

J. Burton | 7 comments Hi, Joshua!

I am looking for some folks to look over my 2nd draft at 100k words or so. It's a Young Adult novel, but is Book 2 in a series.

If you're okay with giving feedback on a sequel without having read the first, it would be a big help to me.

Pacing is my main concern. Knowing where it is flagging, where it might be bloated. And also where to cut. I need to chop at least 10,000 words out of this thing.

I mean, I have ideas about what I could cut, but would rather get other people's ideas before I start slicing.

All feedback is useful on it, however.

"The Sleepwar Saga" is like a supernatural breakfast club. Six teens from different walks of life, who don't know each other, start to find that sometimes, when they sleep, they are together somewhere else. Fighting evil.