Beta Reader Group discussion

Writing Advice & Discussion > Quick tips for new writers!

Comments Showing 1-7 of 7 (7 new)    post a comment »
dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by Knostar (new)

Knostar | 3 comments So I'm pretty new to writing. Working on my first novel right now. I do have an education in game design and a lot of the same principles apply to writing. Here are some quick tips for new writers:

* Get an idea
The first one is quite obvious - you need to know what the story will be about. It doesn't need to have a start and an end, how many characters will be in it and what their names will be. That will work itself.

* Make an outline
Plot points - some key moments in the story in a chronological order. First make one for the whole story or as far as you can get then narrow it down to chapters.
For example:
Chapter 3:
* John goes to his grandmother's house
* Finds granny on the floor, dying.
* Last words - find the treasure
* John calls the police
* John searches the house
* Finds an old encoded document
* Decides to visit his old friend at the antique shop

* Just start writing!
Your base idea might be around a major plot twist then write about that. Maybe you only know how to start the story then start writing about that part. Your creative cogs will start turning faster than you think. A document is alive, you can add chapters or paragraphs before and after what you have written. Try to follow your outline but change it as you go. I try to make a outline for the next chapter before I write it, then I know how it should end and link to the chapter after that. As long as you don’t etch the text on your skin (not recommended) you can rewrite whatever you wrote earlier which leads us to the next tip...

* Rewrite and let someone give you feedback