SIA Showcase for Readers and Writers discussion

Once There Was Fire: A Novel of Old Hawaii
This topic is about Once There Was Fire
Member showcase N through T > Stephen Shender Hawaii historical fiction

Comments Showing 1-2 of 2 (2 new)    post a comment »
dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by Stephen (last edited May 22, 2017 09:16PM) (new)

Stephen Shender | 1 comments Aloha, everyone. The only thing I ever wanted to do for a living was write. (It was also the only thing I could think of doing for a living, because in all honesty, I didn't have the attention span to become a doctor, lawyer, or a physicist, not to mention a rocket scientist or brain surgeon.) For 30 years, I was fortunate to find employers who would pay me, sometime handsomely, to write for them: including newspapers, politicians, and corporate marketing departments. I've always been in awe of novelists, and throughout this time, I wanted to write a novel of my own. But while I am good at expository writing, I've never been much good at inventive story-telling and never knew where or how to start.