LGBTQ Manga Book Club discussion

Introductions

Comments Showing 1-4 of 4 (4 new)    post a comment »
dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by Karleen (new)

Karleen (karleenmary) | 17 comments Mod
This group has been open for a while but I realized we should have a place for member introductions! Answer as many or as few questions as you like.

1.) What's your name? Pronouns?
2.) How old are you?
3.) Where are you from?
4.) What are three random facts about you?
5.) What are you currently reading, manga or otherwise?
6.) How often do you read manga? What is/are your favorite manga?
7.) What genres of manga and fiction in general do you like to read?
8.) Do you have any recommendations for manga/anime with LGBTQ themes?
9.) Anything else?

message 2: by Karleen (new)

Karleen (karleenmary) | 17 comments Mod
1.) I'm Karleen! She/her/hers is good.
2.) 23 years old
3.) I'm from and live in Oregon in the US.
4.) I studied sociology and Japanese in college, I don't have a sense of smell, and I live with three cats.
5.) I'm catching up on the US release of My Hero Academia. Horikoshi is great at making believable and charming characters (wellll except for the two characters I dislike). I also recently read Fun Home and loved it.
6.) Most of what I read is manga, but I don't keep track of it on goodreads. Some of my favorites are Cardcaptor Sakura, Devilman, and Shounen Note. c:
7.) I don't find myself drawn to particular genres. I'm more drawn to certain character types and dynamics? Nonhumans with identity issues, good relationships turned hostile by outside forces (bonus if it's romance), self-sacrificing protagonists, anti-villains, stuff like that.
8.) Shimanami Tasogare is my #1 rec always. A coming of age drama about LGBTQ issues by a nonbinary and asexual mangaka!
9.) I'm very happy to see people have found this group just through exploring goodreads?? I look forward to getting to know you all.

message 3: by Malia (last edited May 20, 2017 04:32PM) (new)