Navigating Indieworld Discussing All Things Indie discussion

Cover design Q&A with Jes Richardson

Comments Showing 1-30 of 30 (30 new)    post a comment »
dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by Jessica (new)

Jessica Richardson | 10 comments [image error]
Hi everybody! My name is Jes Richardson and I’m a book cover designer invited here today to offer some insight, tips and tricks to help you find or make a cover that fits your budget and helps sell your book. Thank you for having me!
A bit about me:
I’m a freelance cover artist. I’ve been focusing on book cover design for the last 8 years after 2 years of vocational training in Graphic Arts followed by a 4 year BA in Graphic Design. I found my way into book cover design as a niche when my author sister asked me to create an ebook cover for one of her novels. I really enjoyed the storytelling aspect to the artwork and the creative liberties I can take over other design work I’ve done and haven’t looked back since!
To date I’ve covered somewhere around 500 books, many of whom have found their way to Amazon and USA Today best sellers lists.
My website is http://coverbistro.com

[image error]
When Erin invited me to come talk to you all, I knew right away I wanted to focus on a couple of really common missteps I see self pubbed authors make with their artwork. One of the most frequent mistakes I see, especially with new authors, are book covers that aren’t genre appropriate. Yes, it makes sense to want to stand from the crowd and do differently than what’s been done - but if you’re name isn’t recognizable enough to stand out and sell books on its own, people need to know what they’re getting before they commit to buying.