The Mystery, Crime, and Thriller Group discussion

General Chat > Looking for books where the Female lover turns out to be a seductress.

Comments Showing 1-6 of 6 (6 new)    post a comment »
dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by Chris (last edited May 19, 2017 07:45AM) (new)

Chris St | 3 comments Hello all, i am a writer and i am looking for mystery/suspense books where the love interest is the bad guy. I am not worried about spoilers, but if you want you can private message me so the ending isn't revealed for anyone else.
Why am I asking? Glad you asked :) I am currently writing a novel about a preacher that gets involved with prison crime....The reason I am not worried about spoilers, because I want to see the technique the author used to convince people the love was real, when in fact she was manipulating the man.
Really looking for a plot twist reveal in the third act. Where the guy thinks the girl actually loves him, and so do the readers, only to discover she was using/manipulating him the entire time.
Again, you can private message me if you want. Thanks for your time, C. St. John
Movie examples: body heat/brick/wild things/ gone girl both book and film.

message 2: by Nancy, Co-Moderator (new)

Nancy Oakes (quinnsmom) | 8556 comments Mod
Chris wrote: "Hello all, i am a writer and i am looking for mystery/suspense books where the love interest is the bad guy. I am not worried about spoilers, but if you want you can private message me so the endin..."

So you're basically looking for books featuring femmes fatales...

"A femme fatale is a stock character of a mysterious and seductive woman whose charms ensnare her lovers, often leading them into compromising, dangerous, and deadly situations."

There are tons of novels falling into this category, way too many to list, but Double Indemnity is certainly one of my favorite femme fatale novels, as is Black Wings Has My Angel.

message 3: by Chris (new)