The Future Authors of America discussion

Fantasy

Comments Showing 1-23 of 23 (23 new)    post a comment »
dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by Maddy (new)

Maddy Harward | 93 comments Mod
What makes you think of fantasy? Its so hard for me to actually think outside the box, and make an interesting, non-cheesy storyline. I can only write about non-fiction, and adventure, and poetry.

How do you fantasy writers do it? I dont get it!!
~Maddy

message 2: by Amanda (new)

Amanda | 76 comments I'm not really GOOD at writing fantasy, but I can tell you why I love to do it :) When you are writing fantasy, if you want to have a character jump out a window and be rescued by a glittery mist conjured up by the mystical (and extremely handsome) fairy prince, than that is OK. Nobody cares that that could never happen in real life. If you want a character to be hit by a mysterious disease that makes you turn into a troll, it's OK. Nobody cares that that is not a real disease. That's why I love it. I guess you asked how we do it, though, didn't you? I don't really sit down and think "Okay, I'm going to write fantasy!" I just write and, when the time comes, I can add something completely crazy if I want to. Also, you can write about a new world that you create. You're not confined to what can happen in the world we know. I'm just ranting now, so I'll stop. I'm excited to see what everyone else has to say! :D

message 3: by Maddy (new)

K good to know, thanks!

message 4: by Amanda (new)