Young Beginner Writers (closed) discussion

Writing Advice > New Writer - Any Advice???

Comments Showing 1-15 of 15 (15 new)    post a comment »
dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by Elizabeth (new)

Elizabeth Creel | 4 comments Hey guys!

So I'm brand new to writing, but I'm hoping to some day publish my stuff (novels). Any advice to a newbie? Anything would be appreciated!!

Thanks

message 2: by ☯Meera☯ (new)

☯Meera☯ (meeracle19) | 77 comments Don't let the muggles get you down!

message 3: by Amy (new)

Amy  | 8 comments 1. Learn how to write- it's quite different from writing papers. Your first manuscript will probably be mega messy, but keep going at it. :)
2. If you're a "seat of the pants" kind of writer, still study structure so you'll have it as a spring board for different ideas- you'll have to understand it while revising anyway.
3. Study your genre- for instance, if you're writing steampunk, read some steampunk as well as the genres surrounding it like fantasy, sci-fi, historical fiction, and classics.
4. Modify writer's advice to suit your own style and individual understanding- make sure you figure out why they're saying it, and decide whether or not it would work for you (you may have to do a few test runs, for instance, I had attempted to use the snowflake method twice until I figured out it didn't work for me).
5. Show don't tell, unless showing it would be mega boring for the reader or would pull the story down.
6. BEWARE OF CLICHES- make your own stories, use the cliches with a new spin, write something only you could write.
7. Let the words flow- it can be difficult at first.
8. If you have a sinking feeling that there's something wrong with your story, there probably is.

message 4: by Amy (new)

Amy  | 8 comments Actually, I may have tried snowflake method more than twice. I don't know.

message 5: by Elizabeth (new)

Elizabeth Creel | 4 comments Amy wrote: "Actually, I may have tried snowflake method more than twice. I don't know."