Support for Indie Authors discussion

Archived Author Help > Free short fiction as a taster

Comments Showing 1-30 of 30 (30 new)    post a comment »
dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by Phil (new)

Phil Monks (phil_monks) | 9 comments Hey all - I'm looking for some advice, I hope this is the right place to post this (I'm new to the group).

I'm a would-be author, in that I'm in the process of writing a book that I will be indie publishing in about a year or so. I have been writing a long time though, and have a range of short stories and even an old trunk fantasy novel that I will be rolling in glitter at some point in the future.

At the moment, I'm looking to build an online presence in advance of the publication of my book (website, twitter, etc.). I was wondering if people have experience of offering short stories, flash fiction, stuff like that for free as a way to raise awareness and interest prior to releasing the "real thing".

Does anyone have any advice in this regard? I'm guessing that Amazon aren't going to be much help, since they won't allow it to be perma-free (please correct me if I'm wrong - I'm still in the research stage on all this!)

I'm more than happy to format the existing work and release it in epub format, which I suppose I can make available to download on my website.

I guess I'm asking two things:

1) Have any of you had success doing this kind of thing?
2) What would you recommend as the best way to optimise this in terms of building a following? Just publish it on the site, or make it available as an ebook?

Thanks everyone :)

message 2: by Jennifer (new)