Beta Reader Group discussion

Special Offers > Free Copy Editing for Sci-Fi/Fantasy or Romance Novels

Comments Showing 1-22 of 22 (22 new)    post a comment »
dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by J. Z. (last edited Feb 02, 2017 08:41AM) (new)

J. Z. Kelley (jzkelley) | 18 comments Hello friends!

I am a new copy editor looking to gain experience and get honest feedback.

I am not an amateur who woke up one day and decided to call herself a copy editor. I have a BA in English, four years' professional writing experience, and a year of academic editing under my belt. I want to make the transition to fiction copy editing.

Some details:

1.) Copy editing involves reading and making suggestions for correct spelling, grammar, syntax, word usage, and consistency. It does not involve feedback on plot, characterization, or pacing, nor does it address simplicity and elegance of expression.
2.) I can accept up to two books at a time.
3.) I guarantee a maximum turnaround time of two weeks.
4.) I prefer to work in Google Docs so that we can discuss your manuscript in real time. However, I can also work with the track changes in MS Word if that is your preference.
5.) My services are absolutely free at this time, no strings attached. If you like the results, I hope you'll write a testimonial I can use on my site.

If you have any questions, please let me know!

message 2: by Lea (new)

Lea McKee | 36 comments I have a YA Sci-fi which has already gone through a few rounds of beta reads and revisions. At this point what I am really in need of is someone with your skill set to help me with the grammatical, punctuation, and spelling errors. I've done my best to self-edit, but as I'm sure you understand when it's your own work it's easy to become blind to those types of errors!