The Readers Review: Literature from 1714 to 1910 discussion

2016/17 Group Reads - Archives > A Connecticut Yankee - Ch 18 - 24

Comments Showing 1-28 of 28 (28 new)    post a comment »
dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by Gem , Moderator (new)

Gem  Paullin | 766 comments Mod
Week three. Unfortunately I am feeling a lot like Deborah, I'm having a tough time getting through this one. And admittedly I'm behind in the reading. Thank you all again for sharing your ideas.

message 2: by Brit (new)

Brit | 80 comments I am not technically Behind as I have this week to read this section, but normally I would have read the section by this time. Mark Twain is an important in American literature and for that reason, I want to complete the book. But it is far from a favorite. My problem is that MT grates on me.

message 3: by Gem , Moderator (new)

I've tried to read Twain in the past and didn't enjoy it. I'm not sure why. But like you Brit, I do want to complete this book.

message 4: by Rosemarie, Moderator (new)

Rosemarie | 2914 comments Mod
I read this book a few years ago, and made myself finish it. I enjoyed the sections of Huck Finn without Tom Sawyer. When Tom appeared, the book went rapidly downhill. The main character in Connecticut Yankee reminds of Tom in some ways.
Has anyone read The Prince and the Pauper?

message 5: by Deborah, Moderator (new)

Deborah (deborahkliegl) | 4493 comments Mod
Rosemarie wrote: "I read this book a few years ago, and made myself finish it. I enjoyed the sections of Huck Finn without Tom Sawyer. When Tom appeared, the book went rapidly downhill. The main character in Connect..."

Not read it, but enjoyed the movie as a child. But then I enjoyed the movie version of this book too.

message 6: by Gem , Moderator (new)

Rosemarie wrote: "Has anyone read The Prince and the Pauper?..."
No Rosemarie, I haven't read it.

message 7: by Rosemarie, Moderator (new)