Play Book Tag discussion

Alexander Hamilton
This topic is about Alexander Hamilton
2016-19 Activities & Challenges > Alexander Hamilton Read-a-Along

Comments Showing 1-36 of 36 (36 new)    post a comment »
dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by Sara (new) - added it

Sara (mootastic1) | 770 comments Note to admins: I didn't know which folder to put this in, so please put it in whichever folder is most appropriate.

Several of us expressed in Flo's review of Alexander Hamilton that we were either stalled in this book or in need of inspiration to get started, that it was decided to start a discussion and accountability thread. If you want to participate in this RAL (read-a-long), please pop in and let us know where you are in the book, or if you haven't even started. I figure we can also discuss any topics or interesting stories here as well.

I am just beginning chapter 8 (page 225) which picks up with Hamilton just after his marriage when he has left General Washington's service in hopes of getting to do something more in the war than compose letters.

I didn't realize he had done this. Historically he is usually just described as Washington's wartime aide-de-camp, so it was interesting to learn it was more than that. I have to admit though, I am glad to be out of the courtship of Eliza Schulyer. I get that this marriage very important to his development as a person, but too be honest it seemed never-ending. I guess I am not mucb of a romantic.

Anita Pomerantz | 6299 comments Where I am in the book?

It's on my Kindle, lol! Does that count? I'd love to try this, but realistically, I'm not sure I can. But I'm going to follow along!

message 3: by Charlie (last edited Jan 22, 2017 06:41AM) (new) - added it

Charlie  Ravioli (charlie_ravioli) | 393 comments I decided to start over from the beginning and I'm currently at the start of Chapter 3 (page 41). Glad to have others along for the ride to keep me on track...hopefully. 6% down, yahoooooooo!