Play Book Tag discussion

January 2017: Foreign Literature > The Brothers Karamazov 4.5 stars

Comments Showing 1-11 of 11 (11 new)    post a comment »
dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by Jen (new)

Jen | 1545 comments 4.5 stars
This was a really challenging and slow going book but one which I appreciated immensely. As a psychologist, I enjoy Dostoyevsky's novels because they are often like reading long psychological case studies.

I alternated between audio and text and unfortunately both were different translated versions. I did not love the audio and found the narrator to be very dry and monotone. I believe the audio was the classic Garnett translation. Honestly, I find her translation style to have been fairly dry and academic. In contrast the text was the updated Pevear and Volokhonsky version which was much more readable and enjoyable.

Anyway, The Brothers Karamazov is a philosophical/psychological novel that deals with notions of family, morality, religion, and more. It's almost 800 pages and in those pages theological and philosophical questions are raised in the context of what is plot-wise a crime story. I'm assuming that most people know the primary plot but just in case I won't say much more about it.

This book was a very slow read. The questions raised are interesting ones but there are many LONG theological monologues that go on for chapters and chapters. I struggled with those section and wished I had read them within a classroom setting to get the most out of them. Dostoyevsky muses about free will, human nature, and the meaning of family -- the attorney for the defense goes on a long monologue about what makes a man a father (is it biological relationship or nurturing that child).

The three brothers are interesting characters and wholly different from one another. They are all driven by passions (as is the Karamazov nature) but these passions express themselves in different ways.