SIA Showcase for Readers and Writers discussion

Member showcase U through Z > P.L. Winn is writing book two

Comments Showing 1-47 of 47 (47 new)    post a comment »
dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by P.L. (new)

P.L. Winn (plwinn) | 32 comments Hi! I'm a brand new author. Just finished my first book yesterday. Now I have to figure out how promotion and marketing work. I feel vaguely like I should have focused on that a bit sooner...

My first book, Tille Madison vs Reality, is about Tillie Madison of the Reality Defense Agency. Think Men in Black, but with fewer aliens and more magic, monsters, and minor gods. And fewer men. And a much more liberal dress code. You know what? Forget Men in Black.

My editor thought this day would never come, and I certainly hope Tillie's next adventure doesn't take quite as long, but for now I'm enjoying the thrill of having my very own ASIN.

I'm also trying to figure out how to categorize my book. (Speaking of things I probably should have done before I finished the book!) It's set in present-day Dallas, Texas, for the very good reason that I live in present-day Dallas, Texas. There's crypto-zoology and some advanced technology, which suggests science fiction, but there's also a little bit of magic, and Tillie does communicate with an ancient mythological being via Skype, so maybe fantasy? At its heart, it's also a thriller: Tillie is marked for death from the opening pages. But science fiction readers might expect more science fiction than there is, and thriller readers might wonder where all of this "Reality Defense" stuff is coming from, so probably fantasy, right?

message 2: by Jane (new)

Jane Jago | 1015 comments How about fantasy thriller?

Welcome aboard!

message 3: by Erica (new)