World, Writing, Wealth discussion

All Things Writing & Publishing > Author opinions for a blog piece please

Comments Showing 1-8 of 8 (8 new)    post a comment »
dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by Eric (new)

Eric Klein (wheelguyeric102963) | 20 comments I'm an aspiring writer who is having trouble writing my first book

message 2: by Alex (new)

Alex (asato) in addition to the research you've already done, here's some more stats and background material that you might find helpful. Authorearnings.com crunches 1 million amazon titles every calendar quarter (they should be coming out with their latest one this month or next).

"On the one hand, it’s fantastic to be able to count over 2,500 authors who are currently earning at a living-wage run rate — $50,000/year or more — from just their Amazon sales. But once again, among the traditionally published contingent we see predominantly authors whose careers began decades ago, including all of traditional publishing’s longest tenured best sellers and most recognizable names.

Out of more than 10,000 Big Five author debuts in the last five years, fewer than 220 are currently earning $50K/year or more on Amazon. Despite all the countless small and medium publisher debuts over the past five years, the tally of those authors earning a living wage is even more discouraging: barely 100 non-Big Five traditionally published authors launched in the past 5 years now earn $50K/year or more from all of their books on Amazon."
(http://authorearnings.com/report/may-...)
Here's the October 2016 report: http://authorearnings.com/report/octo...

Note: You can download their raw data into a spreadsheet (excel worked for me, but open office.org did not) and run your own analyses.

Jane Friedman, former publisher of Writer's Digest, does a round-up of the 2016 publishing trends:

https://janefriedman.com/looking-back...

message 3: by Nik (last edited Jan 19, 2017 10:09AM) (new)